What Are the Components of an HL7 Message?

HL7 terms to better understand what is HL7. Each HL7 standard message is composed of groups and segments where:

  • Groups contain segments or groups
  • Segments contain fields
  • Fields contain components
  • Components contain sub-components

Cardinality for these groups, segments, fields, components, and sub-components are defined using the following markers:

[Square Brackets] indicate something is optional; and
{Curly Brackets} indicate something is repeatable.

To explain how these markers are used to indicate segment cardinality, the ADT^A01 message fragment is defined below:

MSH Exactly one required message header
EVN Exactly one event segment
PID Exactly one patient ID segment
[PD1] Zero or one demographic segment
[ { NK1 } ] Zero to n next-of-kin segments
PV1 Exactly one patient visit segment

[ Start of optional, repeatable group
{ IN1 If group is in message, exactly one IN1
[ IN2 ] For each group in message, 0 or 1 IN2
[ IN3 ] For each group in message, 0 or 1 IN3
] End of optional, repeatable group

Visit our HL7 Resources page for additional information.

The following two tabs change content below.

HL7 Standards

Engaging conversations on healthcare and technology. Your source for health IT standards, healthcare interoperability, Meaningful Use, and health technology trends.